Saturday May 18th, 2013 marks the date for Old Riverside Foundation’s 22nd annual Vintage Home Tour and Restoration Fair.
This year’s tour will showcase five historic homes located in three neighborhoods — the Wood Streets, Palm Heights and downtown’s North Hill area (near Fairmount Park).
The five homes on the tour are: Stephen Magee house (1888), Louis and Ethel Hoyt house (1922), Frank and Madeleine Harris house (1930), A.F. Tissot house (1928), and the Henry L. A. Jekel-designed William C. Evans house (1928). Evans twice served as mayor of Riverside and was part of the extended Evans family of early Riverside.
A big part of each year’s home tour is the “Restoration Faire and Vintage Mercantile” at the Weber House featuring local vendors offering restoration tips and wares. Built by Riverside architect Peter J. Weber, the house — located at 1510 University Avenue — is noted for its eclectic architecture and early eco-friendly designs and serves as headquarters for Old Riverside Foundation. It will also be open for touring (guided by the architect’s son, Peter Weber Jr.).
The self-guided home tour runs from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., rain or shine. Tickets are $15 ($20 day of tour) and are available at: www.oldriverside.org. Proceeds will help benefit historic preservation efforts of Old Riverside Foundation.
Sources: Old Riverside Foundation